One of Those Five-Page Days

Today was one of those days. I feel like so much that happened this week, so much I learned, so many little things that could have easily gone unnoticed, have led up to this.

I can remember exactly what intersection I was at. The colors of the lights still shine in my memory. I can recall the song playing through the speakers, and the way my breath seemed to turn to ice in mid-air. With no circumstantial catalyst to prelude the moment, I heard.

I’ve heard myself for too long. Inside my own brain, wrapped up in the busyness of it. I feel as if I’ve been living in the static the last couple of weeks. It’s been one thing after the other keeping me moving. Life’s eventful that’s for sure, but I missed the crisp organized color that the static replaced.

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” – unknown.

I saw that today at The Afternoon and immediately was reminded of a card I got in the mail this week. Handwritten as the last line before it was signed, sealed, and stamped, read: “Focus on Jesus for Peace”. I’m almost positive that it was written with gifted knowledge and purpose, but regardless of the rhyme or reason, it took me back to a verse that’s all to familiar. A verse that I’m obviously in constant need of remembering.

“You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in You; whose thoughts are fixed on You” – Isaiah 26:3

Earlier this week I was talking with a friend about how God conceals things  so that only those who are truly hungry will find them. Seek and find. We don’t search for what has already been found. God has secrets for us that He wants to reveal and we need to have eyes to see, ears to hear, and hearts to understand. The conversation inspired me, but I was frustrated with the fact that I knew there’s too much static – too much noise – for me to really have ears to hear what the Spirit of the Lord is saying. The seed was planted.

I continued on with the week with out giving a second thought to what had begun to take place with the previous reminder.
Until I got to the intersection.

In just a split second as I passed through the lights in this town, I understood. I saw the intended potential. I heard the answer of how to get from here to there.

I’m seeing the pieces connect all around me.
Our God is real, not far away; He’s alive and at work all around us.
He’s at work in us.
It’s exciting to see the movement.

Anyways, my intersection-revelation has inspired me to focus. Clearing out the static to walk purposefully and sensitive to what is being said with ears to hear and a heart to understand.

Leave a Reply

