Silver Lining Heart’s Condition

These negative degree temperatures: I’m over it.
The fact that my flip flops haven’t seen the light of day in almost half a year: over that too.
However…

I decided the other day that winter is just God’s way of showing His power and beauty of restoration. It’s preparing our hearts for the glory and new life of spring. I love how what is seen is used to teach us about what is unseen…

Still, I’m in love with the way the sun graces the snow around me,  brightening everything, or the wintery blue that hangs in the sky at only this time of year. Even in the midst of “death”, everything I see speaks of the hope for new life.

The silver lining is especially silver.
Enjoying today.

I had a day off this week and spent the whole day reading through The Shack by William P. Young. I don’t even know where to start with that book. I’d like to read it again and again, meditating on what rises up in me when I’m confronted with the reality of God’s unconditional love for all of humanity. I plan on picking apart the book over the next month with the things I learned along the way.

Mostly, the book was just eye-opening about God’s overwhelmingly extravagant – yet simple – love for me, and His desire for that love He’s put in us to overflow.

The Overflow.
That seems to be the season.

“The overflow” seemed to be emphasized in the book, confirming what my heart has been turning over and over for some time now.

At one point, when Mack was faced with the decision of whether or not to go visit God, he asked Jesus if he should. Jesus tells Mack something that speaks about the importance and freedom of living out of the heart.

“Don’t go because you feel obligated. That won’t get you any points around here. Go because it’s what you want to do.”

“Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks”  – Matt. 12:34

There is action.
Overflow.
Outpourings.

A verb, overflowing from a heart of adjectives.
I see that there’s some truth in the age-old saying, “Where there’s a will, there’s a way…”
Our actions – our words, the way we spend our time, our attitudes – reflect so much of what is inside our heart.

Heart’s desire is written boldly over a person’s life.

You see it all of the time, how the passions of your heart guide so much of your external world. I’m going back and forth between offering examples and not, but I think that doing so would limit the specific revelation we need to have regarding an analytical look at the life we’re living.

How are your actions reflecting the overflow of your heart?

Someone once told me, “If you want to learn something about someone look at not what they want to do, but what they have done.”

Now, that’s not some universal truth by any means. Arguably, some lives are full of pasts that are of no indication to who the person is presently. However, it puts the “good intentions” to rest.

And we all have good intentions. But I guess the wake up call comes when we realize that good intentions just aren’t cutting it. Because while they  might be good intentions, if our actions aren’t matching up, then you can be sure that there’s a greater intention lying deeper underneath.

Our actions will speak of this greater intention.

This sort of gets into the Galatians conversation where there’s the struggle between the spirit and the flesh; another story, another day.

Since New Years I’ve been hearing:

“Love the Lord your God will all of your heart, all of your soul, all of your mind”

What would my actions look like if I could really look like that? Essentially, what would my life look like?

I see so much of how it starts in the heart. Even back to Adam & Eve in the garden, the desire of their hearts was selfish, independence, as opposed to loving and following Jesus wholeheartedly. Since that time, there’s been a struggle on the earth, in the hearts of men; for the hearts of men.

Our love cannot be divided. God wants all of our heart.

We need to allow our hearts to be transformed by the Word; the revelation of Love.
Out of the overflow of our heart, transformed in the secret place.

Leave a Reply

