My Passions Belong to Another and His Name is Jesus

I’ve been stirring things in my heart the last couple of days before I actually sat down to “unload” everything onto paper. It’s been fun to re-read through my journal about different dreams that I’ve had or things I’ve experienced. There are things in there that I’ve written and didn’t even remember writing; don’t remember experiencing. Its exciting to recognize a specific theme or vision through the pages, a perspective that I might not have if I left everything unwritten.

Wednesday night I sat down and thirteen pages later, I started to feel like I was making progress. The teaching nature of the Holy Spirit dwelling in my heart never ceases to amaze me. He loves to speak to us. He loves to help us grow and reveal His love for us and the rest of His creation. Sometimes I think that the excitement of growing in the Lord will stop – that maybe the outpouring of all these revelations is just for a day, for a season – but He continues to provide for me. Your love is better than wine; better than life. His Word really is the bread of life, and the reoccuring theme lately has been understanding this. It really is what those who hunger survive on, what gives us strength, what nourishes our hearts.

“Blessed are you who hunger now, for you will be filled” – Luke 6:21

Who can compare with you?

“He made their hearts, so He understands everything they do” – Psalm 33:15

“But those who trust in the Lord will lack no good thing” – Psalm 34:10

“The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives” – Psalm37:23

“Take delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart” – Psalm 37:4

He is concerned with every detail of our lives. Our thoughts, our words, our every feeling, emotion, and desire. This just speaks of how intimate the King of the universe wants to be with us. He calls us friend. He is so in love with us. He wants to be with us where we are and involved in every detail of our lives. He wants to co-labor with us in all things. We’re at work together in the Earth. He is using us to usher in and manifest His will on Earth as it is in Heaven. The Lord is at work in us and around us, working through us. How richly blessed we are to collaborate with the King of the universe! Wow.

In what ways is He wanting to use you? What is He wanting to speak into the hearts of men through you? Are you preparing your heart – setting yourself up – to hear the Lord and be used by Him in this way? Let us not be apathetic and seemingly worthless, but purposeful in our actions and words, sensitive to what He’s doing and what He desires to do.

I have this three-tiered organizer that holds a bunch of teachings on CD that I’ve saved through the years in hopes that I’ll someday get around to listening to all of them. I had completely forgotten that I had all of these resources just sitting in my closet until the Lord reminded me. So here I was, sitting on the floor of my bedroom with all of these CD’s and DVD’s scattered around me. I popped in a Q&A session with Graham Cooke about prophecy, and I love what he said:

Back in the Old Testament we needed an intercessor between us and God – a prophet who would tell us what’s coming next; what to expect. We heard from God through someone else. But now Jesus is our intercessor and He lives in us. He speaks to us. He tells us what’s coming next. We don’t need a prophet to tell us these things. If we want to know, we just ask. He loves to tell us what He’s doing.

“Call to me and I will answer you. I will tell you great and mysterious things that you do not know” – Jeremiah 33:3

We hear from the LIVING GOD directly!
How rich we are in Him…

I’ve been praying over a lot of my dreams lately, and then as a result, praying over the dreams I have in the night. It’s been really exciting, re-reading through my journal and seeing how some of these prophetic dreams are already being fulfilled. It’s been exciting to grow in the discernment of my dreams as well. It’s been even more exciting to see my friends pray over their dreams  and to hear about the outpouring of dreams and visions in their lives. Even when we sleep, our heart is awake

“I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your old men will dream dreams, and your young men will see vision. In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on servants – men and women alike. And I will cause wonders in the heaves above and on the earth below” – Joel 2:28-30

Because of Jesus and how He gave himself so we could co-labor,  co-exist with a Holy King, we all now have the opportunity to dream and see and hear.

This week, along with learning more about my dreams, I remembered dreams I’ve had. As a little girl I had this dream about a time before school started. All of us kids were waiting outside St. Louis Catholic School like we did every morning. Waiting next to the parking lot for the teacher to come and unlock the doors to let us in. In my dream I remember the 6th grade teacher, Mrs. Talarico, parted her way through the sea of kids to unlock the doors for us. She was wearing black capris, black sandals with the big thick strap across the top, and a leopard print shirt. I remember how she sort of waddled to the door and how she made a comment to my friend, Jon Nunnery, on her way up the steps.

Sure enough, I get to school the next morning, and I see Mrs. Talarico waddle in wearing her black capris, black sandals with the big thick strap across the top, and a leopard print shirt. I watched as she made a comment to Jon Nunnery after walking up the steps before she opened the door. I remember standing there in my little saddle oxfords with a backpack that was twice my size and being completely disturbed. It was one of those moments where you just want to shake your head and blink your eyes and wonder if you’re still on planet Earth. Sure enough, it was real, but as a little girl I didn’t think anything more than it being a fun concept that I dreamed and then it happened in real life.

I had completely forgotten about this happening until this week. And as I wrote about remembering that dream this week, I was encouraged that even as a little girl – before I ever really knew Jesus – He was showing me that dreams do and can take place just as I saw them. Even at a young age, He was working to teach and encourage me, fruit that I wouldn’t see for several years.

These dreams and visions that we’re having contain many purposes – some of which we might never know – but I know that one of these purposes is a call to prayer. A specific, simple, and powerful act of co-laboring with the Lord in the Earth.

What are you dreaming? How is God speaking to you through your dreams? Are you being faithful and purposeful with the revelations and visions given to you?

He is calling us to Himself. He is drawing our hearts to His. Over the past couple of months I’ve really been challenged with where my time, energy, and emotion go. What is my mind dwelling on? What does my heart yearn for? In our busy culture, time is so valuable. It’s a resource, a privilege, and a gift.  We make time for what we want to make time for. So often, I write about how actions follow the footsteps of the heart. Truth be told, how you spend your time – how you spend your energy, your efforts, your emotions – is an indication of the inner-workings and true desires of your heart. If you claim to be a Christian, to follow and love Jesus, let there be no competing passion in your heart. God is jealous for you; for the passions of your heart to be for Him and Him alone. And be warned, that He will tear down every high place that exalts itself in your life above the name of Jesus. The process of refinement as a result of rebellion and idols in your life (in your heart, in your time, desires, etc.) is an exhausting and excruciatingly painful thing to go through. Love the Lord your God with all of your heart, all of your soul, and all of your mind. He will restore the first commandment in the Earth and in your life.

The Lord confronts this issue through the prophet Isaiah.

“Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength? Why pay for food that does you no good? Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food. Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life…Seek the Lord while you can find Him. Call on Him now while He is near.” – Isaiah 55:2,3,6,7

In other words, why waste your time? Why invest the greatest treasures you have – your heart, mind, and soul – in things that are fleeting. How are you investing these treasures in light of eternity? How are you spending the currency of passion?

Seek and you will find. He is near, and if we could just get our eyes off of ourselves – off of the things of this world – we’d see Him for who He is: worthy of everything we have to give.

I think that’s enough for today.
Be blessed by the Donor of your heart.

2 comments

  1. you finished the book?

    to tell you the truth, i didnt even read all of this – it is dang LONG. haha. but from the sounds of it, you seemed to be wrapping up thoughts and applying to your life the things that book taught. mmm yes!

Leave a Reply

