Magic Tricks are for the Lazy

Over the last couple of months I’ve been understanding how the condition of your heart is plainly written out in your actions. I’ve taken note of the different fruits that come from the different seeds I sow. Respectively, I’ve been more conscientious of how I spend my time, the music I listen to, the books I read, the words I speak, and similar opportunities to grow in bearing good fruit.

“Can you pick grapes from thorn bushes, or figs from thistles? A good tree produces good fruit, and a bad tree produces bad fruit. A good tree can’t produce bad fruit, and a bad tree can’t produce good fruit…yes, just as you can identify a tree by its fruit, so you can identify people by their actions.” – Matthew 7:16-20

“Let us follow the Spirits leading in every part of our lives…The Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” – Galatians 5:22,25

We will always harvest what we plant.

I’ve been very sick for the past week with a combination of strep and some other virus. I was discouraged throughout the week that despite my prayers, my body wasn’t getting any healthier. I know that Jesus heals, so I didn’t understand why almost a week later I was dragging myself through a snow storm to the doctors. Four doses of antibiotics later, I’m lost upstairs in my room, drowning myself out by the jesusculture worship blasting from my speakers, and dancing on my bed. I was thankful to be able to sing again, to dance, to speak…to swallow. Ouch. A few tracks into my own little church-like service, I’m sitting on my bed, resting in the atmosphere of the moment. Inconveniently, a lesson was about interrupt this precious scene.

The track begins to skip. But not just in a hectic repetitive fashion, instead, it seemed to eternally loop one phrase of the track. “I exalt thee, I exalt thee…” My brilliant plan is to pray over the CD so I can keep resting and soaking in God’s presence.

So here I am, telling the CD to quit skipping and asking the Lord to fix the track. I continue to stay where I’m at, trusting that He’ll help me out. In retrospect I felt like I was testing my faith, especially after I was so discouraged about not being healed in the way that I had envisioned.
Still, the CD skips on as I stubbornly sit in the same position, waiting for Him to act.

Minutes go by and in what seems like a mix of foolish discouragement and defeat, I finally get up to change the track. I return to my little spot on my bed, hoping to resume what was interrupted, but I can’t shake the questions. My mind spins as I search for the truth to oppose the lies.

Then I hear it:
“I’m not a magic trick. You do the things you can do, and I’ll do the things you can’t.”

This simple scenario was used to frustrate my foolish ways and restore them with a truth that is crucial in understanding how the Lord wishes to operate with us on the Earth. This situation brought about a revelation and understanding of the bigger picture of our destiny and purpose as we co-labor with the King of the Universe.

God in His great creativity and sovereignty has gifted us with specific talents and abilities that He works through when we use them.
But we must use them…

What are your strengths and talents? How can you use your gifts and abilities as a verhicle for the invasion of Love in the Earth?

Leave a Reply

