It is Good that You are Near

Burning hearts.

When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the Rock that is higher than I…

Overwhelmed. Engulfed and saturated by this fullness.
I’d liken it to a fire, the brightest kind of flame, that burns and changes the properties of all it encounters.
I’m so undone.
Yearning, grasping, desperately reaching for some sort of understanding to this motion I thrive on.

Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny. Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever…how good it is to be near you.

O Jacob, how can you say that the Lord does not see you? O Israel, how can you say that the Lord ignores your rights? Have you not heard? Do you not understand? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the Earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the wea and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

For I have chosen you and will not throw you away. Don’t be afraid for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. For I hold you by your right hand – I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid, I am here to help you’. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. You are precious to me. You are honored and I love you. From eternity to eternity I am God. No one can snatch anyone out of my hand. No one can undo what I have done. Nothing can compare to what I am going to do. For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. Yes, I will make rivers in the dry wastelands so that my chose people can be refreshed. I have made Israel for myself, and they will someday honor me before the whole world. I publicly proclaim bold promises. I do not whisper obscurities in some dark corner. I would not have told the people of Israel to see me if I could not be found. I will be found by you.

Still, I say, Come Lord Jesus and burn us up.
It is good that You are near.

Leave a Reply

