Raw Excerpt

[“Even though the fig trees have no blossoms
and there are no grapes on the vines;
Even though the olive crops fail,
and the fields lie empty and barren;
Even though the flocks die in the fields;
and the cattle barns are empty,
Yet I will rejoice in the Lord!
I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!
The Sovereign Lord is my strength!
He makes me as surefooted as the deer,
able to tread upon the heights.”
— Habakkuk 3:17-19

Even though…I will be joyful.

In the midst of waiting, patiently waiting to see the vision take place, Habakkuk chose to rejoice even when he saw no fruit or fulfillment of the coming vision.
He chose joy.

In the season of focused passion and passionate patience, we too must take on this “Even though…” attitude, walking by faith and not by sight; remembering the promises and faithfulness of our God.

Even though…I tread upon the heights.

I’m finding the need to be honest with myself. I’m seeing the importance in admitting my weakness to combat the pride.
I’m so lost without You.
But this honesty pleases You. This dependence delights You. Truth is, I need You, more and more.

The more that the light of Your Spirit shines upon my heart, the more I see my ever-increasing need for You to come encourage and lead my weak heart. My love is weak, but it is real. My heart is dark, but You call me lovely. You delight in every detail of my life. You enjoy me in my weakness. There is no light apart from You.

Just like the children of Israel feared the wilderness, so do I fear the journey in the season and land of the unknown. Oh, that you would make me on that rejoices in the barren wilderness with eyes to see now what’s around me, but what’s before me.

I will not be in want. You’re with me. I will not fear. You comfort me. I will not fear. You hold me by the hand and you lead, guide, and renew me. You are close. You are near.

“Wait patiently for the Lord.
Be brave and courageous.
Yes, wait patiently for the Lord”
— Psalm 27

“Only in returning to me and resting in me will you be saved. In quietness and confidence is your strength…

So the Lord must wait for you to come to him. So he can show you his love and compassion. For the Lord is a faithful God, blessed are those who wait for his help…

He will be gracious if you ask for help. He will surely respond to the sounds of your cries…

He will still be with you to teach you (even in adversity). You will see your teacher with your own eyes, your own ears will hear him. Right behind you a voice will say, “This is the way you should go” whether to the right or the left.”

— Isaiah 30

It’s the desperation that leads us to Your face.

Be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power.
He is mighty to save.

“I will sing of your mercy that leads me through valleys of sorrow and rivers of joy” ]

Leave a Reply

