Yes, Your Word Burns Like Fire

“When you said, “Seek my face”, my heart said “God, your face I seek”

Don’t hide your face from me. 

 

Sometimes I feel like I barely know you, that my knowledge of you is just a glimpse; just a hint. I’ve never seen you, and I know so little. My knowledge of you is so miniscule compared to who you are. How can I rightly praise you if I don’t know how great you are? How can I give you all the honor that you’re due, continually in my heart, if I haven’t had a revelation of how awesome you are. Still, I know you are awesome, but I want to know – I want to experientially know the glory, the splendor, and the majesty of you, the living God. 

 

Worship – through worshipping what little we know about you, you will release more revelation in the knowledge of you. It is in that place of worship that the eyes of our heart will be opened to the reality of you, and we will enter into a deeper, more intimate knowing of your nature. 

 

We need to get in touch with the little that we have. It’s a Kingdom principle that we must be faithful in the little before we will be entrusted with more. What little we do know of the Father, we want to respond rightly to. He desires to be found by us. He desires for us to know and love him fully. 

 

Ever since I resolved to read “The Knowledge of the Holy” by A.W. Tozer I haven’t been able to completely finish a book. I know that’s because I need to go back to the place I was called to be obedient. Something in my spirit just knows that this book is so foundational for the rest of what I will read. And isn’t it so true? Isn’t the knowledge of God so fundamental in the way that we see him and thus, our perspective? And that’s what I need, a new perspective. I need to see differently. I need to see and know the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Everything else pales in comparison. 

 

 

“Cardboard cutouts on the floor

People wish that you were more like what they wanted you to be

Eventually they won’t have much of you at all 

In their theology, the walls are closing in on you 

You cannot be contained 

At all 

 

And I don’t want to make you small

I don’t want to fit you in my pocket

A cross around my throat 

 

Cause You are brighter than the sun

You’re closer than the tiny thoughts I have of you

But I could never fathom you at all”

 

Psalm 8 – Jesus is the personification of Wisdom. He’s crying out at the entrance of the town, at the gateway of the roads leading in saying, “I’m calling out to you! I raise my voice to all of you! Listen to me! For I have important things to tell you!” For He, and all that He has to say, is far more valuable than rubies. Nothing that we desire can even compare with it. Nothing. For he is rich an extravagant in his giving. His wealth fills our treasuries to overflowing. We will not be in want. He’s calling out to us, “I love all who love me. Those who search will surely find me!” 

 

“Let my true messengers faithfully proclaim my every word. There is a difference between straw and grain! Does not my word burn like fire?” – Jeremiah 23:28 

 

Straw – stalks of threshed grain, something of minimal value or importance, something with too little substance to provide support in a crisis. 

 

Grain – a small seed, a one-seeded fruit having the fruit and the seed walls united. 

 

Thresh – to separate the grain or seeds from the straw. 

 

What happens to grain when you cook it? 

 

When grains are subjected to heat and liquid, the membrane, or covering, of the grain becomes porous so water can enter the grain. Then the membrane of starch granules inside the grain breaks down. The starch then absorbs water and forms a gel, so the grains become softer and are more palatable.

 

So grain and straw are related, but one is harvested with great value, the other is cast out with little worth. “There is a difference between grain and straw!” – the people Jeremiah was called to had to be reminded of that. Yes, they’re related, but there is a huge difference between the two. In that time there were many false prophets giving a “message from the Lord” from their false dreams. Then there were the Lord’s prophets that were having dreams with messages from Him that they were to proclaim. Both parties were having dreams and giving messages, but one was of great value – being that it was truth and perfect in timing for that season – while the others were worthless lies. 

 

There are many messages being spoken in the earth right now. Many doctrines and interpretations of who the Lord is and how we live and respond to that reality. While are both speaking of the Lord and how to respond – seemingly both would be truth – one message is of great value while another is of little or no worth and is actually deception that is conforming to and supporting the prelation of idolatry in the earth. 

 

But words that are from the Lord do  burn like fire. The straw will fall limp and weak under the heat of truth, but the grain will become thirsty, penetrable, and retentive to be digested and bring nourishment. 

 

We need to be putting the harvest of our perspectives up to the fire of the truth in the word to test and determine if the messages we are agreeing with in our hearts and our minds are of Lord. So easily, can we be led astray in our assumptions of God; in what we think is our knowledge of him. We don’t realize how shaped our world-view and God-view is by our surroundings and influences. 

 

It’s time that we receive a transformation in the restoration by the renewing of our minds as we hold all of our pre-conceived notions about the Father up to the fire of Wisdom, so that we might see him as he is and love him rightly. 


Leave a Reply

