The Day the Rain Came

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll always be waiting for something. If I’m not waiting for this, I’ll be waiting for the completion of a written book, for favor in the marketplace, for a family, for a ministry to unfold, for a greater measure of the anointing…the list could go on and on and it seems to be that I’m good at finding things to wait for, things to expect, things to look forward to.

I thrive on constant motion, and it’s been quite a lesson to learn how to enjoy the moment and the current season regardless of what I know is coming next. For the first time in my life, I’m not running. I’m not lacing up my shoes ready for the next place to move; racing to the next destination. I’m planted, rooted, grounded and…waiting.

I’ve realized that once you start waiting, you’ll always be waiting. It’s a never ending lesson to wait on the direction from Holy Spirit in all things. To put to sleep our adventurous, ambitious, constant-motion, self-fulfilling, prideful nature and to exchange it for a season and a spirit of patience and wisdom. Jesus never did anything unless He saw the Father do it first, He would only say what He heard the Father speak. Every move that Jesus made was in surrender, complete surrender to the Father’s will.

I want to hear and see every move before I make it. What confidence that allows us to walk in, knowing that our steps were ordained, purposed, and protected by the sovereign will of God. What hope we have when we meet adversity in those seasons, never having to question the path we chose to walk.

 

Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are all those who [earnestly] wait for Him, who expect and look and long for Him [for His victory, His favor, His love, His peace, His joy, and His matchless, unbroken companionship]!

See how the farmer waits expectantly for the precious harvest from the land. [See how] he keeps up his patient [vigil] over it until it receives the early and late rains

What strength have I left, that I should wait and hope? And what is ahead of me, that I should be patient?

[I do it because, though He slay me, yet will I wait for and trust Him and] behold, He will slay me; I have no hope–nevertheless, I will maintain and argue my ways before Him and even to His face.

All the days of my warfare and service I will wait, till my change and release shall come.

And they waited for me as for the rain, and they opened their mouths wide as for the spring rain.

In the morning You hear my voice, O Lord; in the morning I prepare [a prayer, a sacrifice] for You and watch and wait [for You to speak to my heart].

Yes, let none who trust and wait hopefully and look for You be put to shame or be disappointed

Guide me in Your truth and faithfulness and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; for You [You only and altogether] do I wait [expectantly] all the day long.

Let integrity and uprightness preserve me, for I wait for and expect You.

Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for and hope for and expect the Lord!

Behold, the Lord’s eye is upon those who fear Him [who revere and worship Him with awe], who wait for Him and hope in His mercy and loving-kindness,

Our inner selves wait [earnestly] for the Lord; He is our Help and our Shield.

Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him

But as for me, I will look to the Lord and confident in Him I will keep watch; I will wait with hope and expectancy for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me.

For the vision is yet for an appointed time and it hastens to the end [fulfillment]; it will not deceive or disappoint. Though it tarry, wait [earnestly] for it, because it will surely come; it will not be behindhand on its appointed day.

But if we hope for what is still unseen by us, we wait for it with patience and composure.

 

 

[June 19, 2009]

 

“I’ve prayed for over a month for rain. The kind that pours. The kind you can dance in, that washes over you, that refreshes the earth. The kind that allows you to escape the concept of time and let go. Renewing rain.

First in the natural, then in the spirit.

I’ve waited and waited, prayed and prayed through the unusually dry months and season for their to be a release.

Today, like most every Friday, I turned on IHOP and worshipped before Mike’s teaching. Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was and is and is to come…

His presence is my place of refuge. My hiding place.

I stepped outside to the blue sky breaking through the majestic clouds, sunlight hitting the crest of those clouds, painting a beautiful picture for me in the expression of God in the earth. As I’m looking at the clouds I was reminded that my voice in His ear doesn’t go unheard. That eventually, in His faithfulness, He will respond, so I didn’t need to be discouraged in my waiting and watching. What reason for hope!

I felt like I could just rest in that truth, and it encouraged me to keep pressing in and to continue waiting with a focused passion for the release in the faithfulness of God. He will respond.

Before I knew it, rain fell. Little drops at first, but even then in my poor and needy, weak and weary heart, I didn’t allow myself to believe or even get excited. I didn’t think that real rain would come.

Next thing I knew, it was pouring…

Steadily the rain came and I twirled with arms open under the down pour. Increase after increase came and water fell everywhere around me.

Such momentum from the heavens…

My heart was so encouraged and so delighted. FINALLY – the rain came. This is EXACTLY what I was waiting for. And as I danced in the down pour from heaven, I realized, THIS WAS SO WORTH THE WAIT.

I could feel the Father’s heart as I danced, the delight He felt in answering my cry; in delighting my heart with the very thing I had been waiting for.

There is such joy in Your presence.

It was so worth it all. Worth the desperation, worth the discouragement, worth the wait.

Oh, sweet release…

And then it occurred to me, how much this is true in the other things I’m waiting for. Waiting for dreams and prophecies to be fulfilled, waiting to see the Lord, for more release, more outpouring, more overflow, more revelation, more dreams, more fellowship with the Holy Spirit, more visions of the man, Jesus.

And I knew that just like the rain was worth the wait, so would these things be worth the wait. I can’t even imagine – this was just of glimpse – of the joy I will feel in the revelation of God’s faithfulness when He grants these desires of my heart.

I was so encouraged to keep pressing in, keep waiting, keep watching. It is SO worth the wait.

Oh, how He delights in every detail of our lives and in granting the desires of our heart.

Surely He will respond…

“Let us press on to know HIm. He will respond to us as surely as the arrival of the dawn or the coming of rains in the early spring.” – Hosea 6

I realized too that I took so much more delight in these things taking place because I had waiting and yearned and cried out for them. Had I not they probably would have happened, going unnoticed. But God, in His goodness, stirred my heart to yearn, ask, and wait for these things to take place. How much more delight I experienced after waiting for these things. How much more glory the Father received in my delight and heart of thankfulness when they are unlocked and given.

There is perfect timing in cultivating our hearts for the blessings of God.

He will respond.

ALL glory to Him forever and ever.
Amen.”

 

So I have concluded that with our heart’s desires lying unseen and in wait, I count it all worth it. Still, I find myself resisting the waiting, fighting the urge to grow weary in my patience through losing focus. This sustained focus. But I remember the day the rain came…

Jesus, You are so worth it all

3 comments

  1. I confess I shivered with some parts of the text. Very good, no doubt!
    I made a small reference to your blog and your text on my page, I hope you do not mind.
    Pass by, I would like to know the opinion of the author of these amazing texts.

    Keep up the good work, I will continue to pass by to follow it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

