Sand Grains

“The Divine Omniscience”

The Knowledge of the Holy

A.W. Tozer

 

You know me.  You are near. You have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I’m going to say even before I say it. You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

 

I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night – but even in the darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you.

 

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

 

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

 

We can’t even comprehend how well the Lord knows us and understands us. We’re constantly learning things about ourselves that all along He’s already known. He’s constantly revealing His creative nature at work in the fabric of our hearts by showing us who we are in the light of who He is.

 

To say that God is omniscient is to say that He possesses perfect knowledge, but it says more: He has never learned and will never learn. He knows all things, has always known all things, and will always know all things. All knowledge, just like all time, and all wisdom, are in Him.

 

The Father never had to sit at the feet of instruction. He was never discipled to be the Creator of the universe or the Author of all wisdom. Knowing Himself perfectly, and being the source of all life, He has perfect knowledge of everything that exists, everything that has existed, and everything to exist in the ages to come.

 

God effortlessly is well acquainted, and better yet, perfectly knows all matters, spirits, minds, beings, creatures, laws, relations, causes, thoughts, mysteries, enigmas, feelings, desires, secrets, thrones, dominions, personalities, all things visible and invisible in heaven and in earth, motion, space, time, life, death, good, evil, heaven, and hell.

 

He knows in perfection the state of all things. Because He knows all things perfectly, He does not know one thing better than the other, but knows all things equally as well. He has complete knowledge of the circumstance and situation you are facing now, as He had complete knowledge of the circumstances and situations of ages past that He showed His faithfulness in.

 

What confidence we can have to be free to live when we make a conscious decision to quiet the inner anxiety and insecurities of our hearts and trust in a God who never discovers anything, is never surprised, is never amazed, is never wondering about what to do next.

 

God knows Himself perfectly and knows us perfectly. Look around and find a common denominator in the troubled hearts of those that are on a journey of the inner exploration of their soul. The Father speaking to the true identity and value of a person quiets this internal crisis that so many seem to face in this changing world.

 

The eyes of Jesus burn with a fire that sees through all things to their purest form. To the one that loves the Father with a real, yet weak, love, this can be a cause of great joy for He sees the motivations of their heart. To the wicked, the very thought that God knows all things perfectly is cause for great fear.

 

“To us who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope that is set before us in the gospel, how unutterably sweet is the knowledge that our Heavenly Father knows us completely.” He knew us before we knew Him and called us to Himself in the full knowledge of everything that we are, were, would be in light of everything that is against us.

 

Our Father in heaven knows our frame and remembers that we are dust. He knew our inborn treachery, and for HIs own sake engaged to save us. “His only begotten Son, when He walked among us, felt our pains in their naked intensity of anguish. His knowledge of our afflictions and adversities is more than theoretic; it is personal, warm, and compassionate. Whatever may befall us, God knows and cares as no one else can.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

