Curried Chicken Wrap (The Best Wrap Ever)

Despite my love for culinary creativity, I tend to be pretty ritualistic and predictable. I usually find one thing I love and eat it every day for the whole week. Like cucumbers and mustard, thin pretzels and mustard, hard-boiled eggs, spinach egg white wraps, etc. Notice a trend?

In my attempt to make “out-of-the-box” lunches I decided to “invent” a new wrap!

I wasn’t going to share this “recipe” until the girls at work got a hold of my lunch and loved it! Apparently I can make some cold hard cash by making this for my partners!

So here it is: This wrap is FULL of flavor, high in protein, low in carbs, and good for your heart!

I started off by slow-cooking some curried chicken tenders from Trader Joe’s. This is sort of the short-cut way to do it. These chicken tenders are for people who love the savory, mouth-watering flavor of curry but don’t have the time for all the chopping, simmering, and marinating. These lean chicken tenders are freshly prepared in a marinade of warm, traditional curry spices and at $3.99/lb. you don’t just get healthy convenience but unbeatable value (that’s for all my hustlin’ P31 wives/moms).

Drizzle a little bit of olive oil in a large pan over med-low heat, add the curried chicken, and cover. I let my chicken cook for about 20 minutes. The cover keeps the steam and moisture in while the lower cooking temperature makes your chicken sweet and tender.

While your meat is cooking I chopped up a few handfuls of fresh cilantro and green onions.

Once the chicken is finished cooking I chopped it into 1/2″ cubes and let it cool on the cutting board.

In a mixing bowl I combined 1/2 c. non-fat greek yogurt (awesome high-protein, low-fat substitute for mayo) and 2 (heaping) T. of this tarragon dijon mustard I found at the local gourmet cheese shop this week. You can use your favorite gourmet whole-grain mustard as long as it isn’t yellow or some high-sugar variety.

Add the fresh cilantro and green onion to your mixing bowl, store in an air-tight tupperware and refrigerate overnight. Refrigerating overnight isn’t absolutely needed but it allows all of the flavors to intensify and combine.

Take your favorite wrap – I love the Flat Out Light Original wraps (only 90 cal. each) – and top it with lettuce and your curry chicken mixture.

One of my favorite things.

One comment

Leave a Reply

