Wedge Cookies

I spent the morning in my favorite chair, drinking coffee and singing my heart out to one of the best sets I’ve heard from William Matthews on iBethel.tv.

I went outside to rake leaves into giant piles, mow my lawn (with incredibly straight lines), and put away the patio furniture to prepare for winter.

Halfway through I took a nap on my hammock in the last bit of warm sunshine before the clouds and cool air rolled in.

It seemed like a perfect day to make my house smell like chocolate chip cookies and freshly brewed coffee.

Like usual, I leveraged my creative ambition to “invent” something delicious & body-loving!

These “cookies” are so healthy – no sugar added, high in protein and fiber – & easy to make! The failed caramel I made from scratch for a caramel-apple-making party proves that I’ve got a long way to go before baking is claimed as my forte but I think I’m making progress!

In a large bowl I mixed less than half a stick of salted butter, two egg whites, a small cup of Greek yogurt, a few packets of Stevia, some unsweetened cocoa powder, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Then I added about a cup of oats, 1 1/2 c. of multi-grain flour, a little salt, 1 t. baking soda, unsweetened dark chocolate chips and a LOT of raisins.

Since I didn’t use sugar or oil, I had to add a little water at the end to get the batter to a cookie dough consistency.

The Greek yogurt is my secret weapon. It gives a rich consistency without any fat, in the place of oil, with a bonus of adding lots of protein.

Mix everything together and get creative with your inclusions. I decided on chocolate & raisins.
Next time I think I’ll add a fresh banana and maybe some unsweetened coconut…

Bake at 350 for about 15 min or until golden brown.

I think I just found a great replacement for the high-sugar Luna bars for breakfast!

Cheap, easy, healthy & delicious!
Hope you enjoy this on a cozy fall afternoon!

Leave a Reply

