The Reality of Zing

You beckon me.
There are things to do and places to go!

This resurrection life I received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?”. His spirit touches my spirit and confirms who I really am. We know who he is and we know who we are: Father and children. And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us – an unbelievable inheritance!

If we go through the hard times with him, then we’re certainly going to go through the good times with him!

That’s why I don’t think ther’s any comparison between the present hard times and the coming good times. We can hardly wait for what’s coming next. We know that there are glorious times ahead and meanwhile, the joyful anticipation deepens.

And this waiting, it doesn’t diminish us anymore than waiting diminishes a pregnant mother. 
We are growing in the waiting.
Of course, we don’t always see what is growing or even what we’re waiting for, but the longer we wait, the more we grow and the more joyful our expectancy becomes.

Meanwhile, the moment we grow weary in the waiting, God’s spirit is right alongside, helping us. He knows us far better than we know ourselves and in mercy, he keeps us safe as we learn in grow. I think of the decisions I’ve made along the way that could’ve brought complete and utter destruction in my life but in his kindness he was PATIENT with me as I grew and learned.
He wasn’t worried that I wouldn’t make it.
He wasn’t worried that I wouldn’t learn.

And that’s why I can be so sure that in every detail of my life, he is working it into something for GOOD.

So how can I lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst my sending his own son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for me?

I’m absolutely convinced that nothing – nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable – absolutely nothing can get between me and God’s love because of the way that Jesus has embraced all of us.

I’m learning that it’s all so simple.
I am JUST LOVED – and I don’t have to be anything, say anything or do anything (or even believe it, for that matter) for it to be true. I’m learning this – all of the time, actually – that there is NOTHING I can do that will make him love me MORE.
There is nothing I can do that will make him love me less.

And so, in those seasons where everything is confusing, nothing makes sense, and I have no idea where I’m going, all I have to do is GIVE INTO LOVE and LET HIM LOVE ME.

That’s it.

I used to know life in patterns and seasons. Now, all of my boxes and perceptions have been completely obliterated by something and someone so much bigger than me. Everything I thought is being turned upside down. Every vision I ever had for my life is being challenged and reshaped, and while it’s looking like nothing I expected, or dreamed, I KNOW that whatever is coming my way, whatever season I’m currently in is exponentially better than what I had envisioned.

For he gives exceedingly and abundantly beyond anything we could ever ask, hope or think of.

This is my HOPE.

Something I was reminded of yesterday is that God writes down all of our life’s story in a book even before we’re born. He keeps track of every little detail of my life (thank God, because I can’t seem to keep up!). He knows how every hurt and pain and traumatic situation will teach us and how the RESTORATION of that blow will be so instrumental in helping others who find themselves in the same situation. Doesn’t that, even that, make it all worth it?

So all I know how to do is LOVE and LET HIM LOVE ME MORE. I know that all of the questions, confusion, misconceptions, and misdirections will be answered and quieted as I find myself in the only place that is safe. I know that growing, learning, and loving well is the prime purpose and passion (vision) of my heart. I know that I’m walking in the fullness of that, even now.

This is rich. This journey is rich and freeing. To know that I don’t have to have everything figured out, that I don’t have to have a handle on the ways in which things fall and grow, is a freeing relief that propels me into my destiny.

I hear the hope and vision he speaks over me. I see the gold he is pulling out of my as I give myself to love.

And so I grow in the waiting, knowing it’s worth it all.

Leave a Reply

