Accidentally in Love

“This is just as much of a surprise to me as it is to you.”

It was February, not long after I decided to let go of all hope I had for restoration in heartbreak. I was finally at the point where I was enjoying being a “single lady”. I had adjusted to living in my house alone and reverting back to my fiercely independent ways.

It was right about that time that I fell in love…

I was apprehensive about everything having to do with a relationship but he was persistent and patient, and his gentleness and graciousness moved my heart. 

And we fell in love…

Everything has been a process of me allowing walls to fall down under the trust that we continue to build. 

His strength of heart, firm resolve to love (actively, regardless of emotion), and his relentless focus to show me Jesus (the kindness and gentleness of Jesus) in the way he lives his life and deals with me has been inspiring, comforting and challenging to me. 

I am RICHLY blessed to know, love, and be loved by this man. 

With him, I find a safe place to be weak, to grow, to learn, and to thrive. I see gentleness, selflessness, vulnerability, and passion. I see Jesus and a joyful invitation to “go higher” through him. 

I am thankful for the life and love I found in this man that I “accidentally fell in love with”. 
He loves WELL and he inspires me to do the same.

I am thankful for the life circumstances and relationships that refine us to be better lovers of God and people. 
I am thankful for the people in my life, along the way, that teach me how to do just that.

Leave a Reply

