SNAPSHOT: Dreams, Nutritional Benefits, Organizing Methodology, Personality Tests

*I’m missing California today. Really, REALLY missing California.

*I started a list of “Dreams of My Heart”. I’m keeping them in my Stickies application on my MacBook next to one of the sweetest notes ever written to me by my childhood best friend. There are big dreams like:

1. Make people for the Kingdom of God that walk in signs and wonders and are carriers and ministers of RESTORATION

2. Go to an orphanage and love on, bless, and prophecy destiny and restoration to babies in another country

17. Lead a small group

and then there are little dreams like:

23. Have a lemon tree, make lemonade

27. A house with a front porch (house with a red door is #26) & either a pair of rocking chairs or a swing where I’ll make sun tea & pray

28. Make a lobster dinner

I just realized that I do a lot of “making” in my dream list…

*Coconut oil is THE BEST eye makeup remover. I’m using it for everything these days. I’m sautéing vegetables with it – it won’t burn at high temperatures, the saturated fat in it isn’t harmful like in vegetable oils, and it doesn’t increase your LDL cholesterol levels.  I’ve also been using it as a night time facial moisturizer. It’s comparable to mineral oil on your skin except that it doesn’t contain all of the adverse side effects and toxins. Coconut oil is extensively used in tropical countries as a hair conditioner and it’s intensely moisturizing effect helps to delay wrinkles and sagging skin. It’s perfect to use it as an anti-frizz serum after a blowout and locks in shine while helping to speed healthy hair growth. Oh, and it’s also really good for losing weight. The short and medium-chain fatty acids that it contains help to boost your metabolism, aid in digestion and reduce the amount of stress on your pancreas.

*I’m eating lots of celery lately. The boys (& Liz) like to go to Buffalo Wild Wings and watch whatever (very important) game is on. I’m not opposed to it because I LOVE the atmosphere there. My brother always used to make fun of me and tell me that it was the only place where I could be loud and not be obnoxious. It’s WILD in there!

Since I have no interest in sucking the meat off of an animals bone (childhood trauma in the third grade involving hot lunch and a Russian orphan my parent’s friends adopted) and I’m  being careful about fried/carb-loaded food (boneless wings) I love to go there and eat the Naked Tenders spun in Medium sauce and  a “bucket of celery” dipped in hot sauce.

One night when I was entertaining myself while the game was on (via iPhone) I learned that celery is rich in vitamin K and vitamin C. It aids in digestion, is a diuretic (so it balances the fluids in your body), helps to strengthen your bones, lowers blood pressure, fights cancer and your body’s inflammatory issues like asthma and arthritis.

*Speaking of the nutritional benefits of foods. I’m obsessed with getting a Vitamix blender. Instead of using a juicer you can just throw your whole foods in and blend them up to a creamy consistency. This allows you to get all of the nutrients that are usually lost in the juicing process when it extracts the pulp and fiber from the fruit and vegetables. Also, having the fiber included in your drink by using the Vitamix helps to have a proper fiber/sugar ratio so your blood sugar levels remain stable. Maybe I should put my Vitamix on my dream list. I’m dreaming of spinach, kale, wheatgrass, ginger, apple, carrot smoothies…maybe some celery too?

*Organizing your house and closets (especially) are such a good feeling. Thankfully, I remember all too well the afternoons that my  Mom made me help her organize my room when I was little. As I got older and joined Starbucks I learned that how I was used to organizing a space is called the 5S Methodology. It’s actually an organizing method using a list of five Japanese words (obviously, translated below) that will help facilitate efficiency and sustainability.

  1. SORTING: Eliminate things that you don’t need or haven’t used in a while. The best practice for this is to have a “donate” bag and a “trash” bag for each space you’re going through. Some people have a “rule” that you get rid of anything you haven’t used in the last year. If it’s sentimental but it isn’t being used in your day-to-day life, it need to be packed away and stored.

  2. SIMPLIFYING: “There’s a place for everything and everything in it’s place”. So this is why I hang up my keys in the exact same place when I get home or how Eric found my iPhone case he wanted to steal (“because everything computer/iPhone goes in that basket”).
  3. SHINING: Get the new space that you’ll move everything into clean. If things are in their place and clean it’s easy to identify outstanding items that have a way of “collecting” on top of desks, tables, etc.
  4. STANDARDIZING: This is the fun part where you make your IKEA trip! You’re standardizing your space, getting appropriately leveled shelves or bins. This is when I look at my piles and “subjects” of items and I make a list. “Okay, so I need a box for CD’s, an expandable folder for bills, x amount of bins for storing winter clothes, x number of baskets for tank tops/workout clothes, etc.” You get the idea…you’re strategically creating a list of what you NEED to “house” these items and keep them straightened. You’re also thinking of the best and most efficient way to organize them. In my experience, I had to “re-standardize” the way my closet was organized. I had it so that all of my shirts were getting hung up along with my blouses and dresses. Since this way took more time to hang up my shirts than it took to fold them it meant I usually had a pile of “will hang up later”. Resetting my closet allowed me to expedite the laundry folding process and ensure that the clean clothes didn’t just stay in a basket waiting to be hung up. This is actually a good example of the next S: Sustaining.
  5. SUSTAINING: What is going to work best so that it’ll be the easiest way to KEEP your space clean? So this becomes the new way to operate. You’ve established the practice and now you’re executing it 100% of the time to maintain it. This means that tank tops always go in that bin and belts always go in this wardrobe, hoodies are folded and go here…and anything computer/iPhone goes in that basket.

At Starbucks we call it “Lean Thinking” it’s appropriately locating your items to reduce wasted time/energy in your work flow. This means it makes sense to have your bills folder here because this is where you usually open your mail or it’s more efficient to have your bathroom wipes stored in your bathroom where you can access them to clean your bathroom quickly and easily than to have them stored down the hall in the cleaning closet. People use this type of lean thinking all of the time when building a house: you want your dishwasher closest to the area that you’ll be storing your dishes, you want your fridge closest to your appliance, prep/workstation area, etc.

*I LOVE Strengths Finder. My best friend and her husband took it with their church out in Redding, California. It’s a personality/strengths assessment that allows you to be aware of what your natural leadership tendencies are, offering practical advice on how to apply your strengths and insight for others on how to interact with you. Eric and his friends had to take it as a part of being on staff with their church too. This spring my friend Liz and I made a trip to Barnes & Noble to buy the book and take the online assessment. It was so eye-opening and really helped me to understand why I work or respond in certain ways. It was also so helpful in giving me insight into the way the individuals on me team in the store operate and how I can best communicate with them and help to develop their strengths.

I had empathy and strategic as my top two strengths. Empathy I understand all too well but strategic was a surprise for me. Apparently strategic means I have “a special perspectice on the world at large” (haha okay…true!) that allows me to “see patterns and alternative scenarios” (the “what if…” thinking). Those two strengths were followed by developer, communication and harmony.

I took a couple personality tests with Eric before we even started dating and it was so cool to see how we compliment each other in our strengths and natural tendencies. My practical application in Empathy told me to partner with someone with a strong Activator quality (Eric’s strength) that will help me make decisions and take action that I otherwise would’ve have taken because I was too concerned about people’s feelings.

In the Meyers-Briggs test, I was an ENFP:

ENFPs take their relationships very seriously, but also approach them with a childlike enthusiasm and energy. They seek and demand authenticity and depth in their personal relationships, and will put forth a lot of effort into making things work out. They are warm, considerate, affirming, nurturing, and highly invested in the health of the relationship. They have excellent interpersonal skills, and are able to inspire and motivate others to be the best that they can be. Energetic and effervescent, the ENFP is sometimes smothering in their enthusiasm, but are generally highly valued for their genuine warmth and high ideals.

Yep. That explains everything.

Eric was in ENTP:

As an ENTP, your primary mode of living is focused externally, where you take things in primarily via your intuition. Your secondary mode is internal, where you deal with things rationally and logically.

With Extraverted Intuition dominating their personality, the ENTP’s primary interest in life is understanding the world that they live in. They are constantly absorbing ideas and images about the situations they are presented in their lives. Using their intuition to process this information, they are usually extremely quick and accurate in their ability to size up a situation. With the exception of their ENFP cousin, the ENTP has a deeper understanding of their environment than any of the other types.

This ability to intuitively understand people and situations puts the ENTP at a distinct advantage in their lives. They generally understand things quickly and with great depth. Accordingly, they are quite flexible and adapt well to a wide range of tasks. They are good at most anything that interests them. As they grow and further develop their intuitive abilities and insights, they become very aware of possibilities, and this makes them quite resourceful when solving problems.

ENTPs are idea people. Their perceptive abilities cause them to see possibilities everywhere. They get excited and enthusiastic about their ideas, and are able to spread their enthusiasm to others. In this way, they get the support that they need to fulfill their visions.

Yep. That’s him. It’s amazing that we can be so alike and SO different. I’m learning so much about my own heart and about Jesus in doing life with someone who is so different than me. I think I will have grown to be someone so different and dare I say it, logical, in 40 years…God is good & brilliant to pair you with people that you have so much to learn from. Learning is my love language. 

If you haven’t take either of these assessments, I highly recommend it. It’s so life-giving to your relationships and interactions with people as you learn how to communicate and leverage your own strengths!

*Right now I’m reading Desiring God by John Piper (who is such a sweet, adorable little man!) and it’s destroying my world view (which I’m learning is a good thing!). I think I’ll go finish that book now!

One comment

  1. one of my favorite books ever!!! and i love coconut oil too. i rub it on my belly…hope it will help with maybe a few stretch marks?? it may not. that’s ok too!! but i like it!!!

Leave a Reply

