Roasted Mashed Cauliflower

 

 

 

 

My midwestern Mom is a “meat & potatoes” kinda lady. Her idea of a delicious dinner is pork chops with mashed potatoes and gravy. My older brother would have to agree since he’s infamous for finishing off a gigantic bowl of mashed potatoes at these “delicious dinners”. I, on the other hand, am not convinced. In fact, for every Thanksgiving dinner I can remember, I am hardly interested in the mashed potatoes OR the turkey. Hit me with the fresh cranberries & stuffing!

But for whatever reason this week I was craving garlic & chive mashed potatoes. I think I was more interested in the garlic and chive? I heard about substituting mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes several years ago when The South Beach Diet was popular. I decided I would try to “invent” my own low-carb version of this popular American comfort food.

I started off with a head of yellow cauliflower. You can use white cauliflower, of course, I think I just felt like it was a better option to use yellow. You know, the whole “eat by color” deal.

Cut the stem and green leaves off of the cauliflower and separate the vegetable into the smallest pieces that you can. Think “little trees”! This will make it easier to “mash” them later. The most efficient way is to have a pot of water boiling while you’re tearing apart your cauliflower.

 

 

You’ll want to boil your cauliflower for about 8-10 minutes. While this is happening you’ll start prepping your spices. Take two cloves of garlic and “roast” them over high heat on a frying pan. (I live/cook by the saying “the more garlic the better” but this does NOT apply with this recipe. Our mashed “potatoes” were SO garlic-y they were SPICY. I guess the roasting brought out more flavor than I expected…) Then chop a couple inches of a green onion, crack some salt and pepper over the root vegetables and drizzle with a little bit of olive oil

 

Once your cauliflower is done cooking you’ll drain it and then throw it into the blender with one 8 oz. container of greek yogurt. The BEST way to “mash” the cauliflower is by using an immersion blender but that wasn’t an option at the guy’s house so I had to improvise. In a blender you’ll have to blend on high for a few seconds and then use a spatula to move the vegetables around to make sure they get pureed.

After your cauliflower is “mashed” you’ll add it to your bowl of spices by gently folding it in. Then you’ll add a handful of shaved parmesan cheese. Be sure to taste as you fold to see if you need to add more salt.

 

 

At the very end I topped my “mashed potatoes” with a little more parmesan cheese.

Cauliflower works with the body’s detox system, it’s antioxidant system, and it’s anti-inflammatory system. It’s a great vegetable for cancer prevention, rich in vitamin C and vitamin K. Unfortunately, I’m sure a lot of the nutrients are cooked out through the boiling process but it’s still a better alternative to the traditional mashed potatoes.

Try this recipe out – I think you’ll agree!

6 comments

  1. Yay! Thank you for this. I was hoping you’d post a recipe when I saw the photos on instagram! Now to convince Tim to give it a try..

Leave a Reply

