Moving Day: Healthy Taco Dip

I don’t know what the deal is but I’ve been craving nachos lately. Really FRESH nachos.

You know, the kind with crisp shredded lettuce, cool sour cream, spicy jalapenos, sweet tomatoes and loaded with sliced black olives. I think the cheese and veggies are my favorite part of any “Tex-Mex” dish.

Today is Moving Day! We’re blending everything inside the house (which includes LOTS of fashionable menswear/shoes!) since Eric will stay here for the next couple of weeks before the wedding while I stay with one of my best friends in suburbia.

It’s going to be a sweet month! I’m trying to just cherish these moments of tearing down, building up, incorporating, compromising, etc.

Today I created a healthy taco dip that the guys could snack on in between trips…(even though they left on their second trip three hours ago?) and I have beef slow cooking in the crock pot for “Machos” later tonight.

 

 

 

In a blender (yes, a blender) combine 8 oz. of greek yogurt, 8 oz. of low-fat cream cheese, a packet of spicy taco seasoning, a can of rotel and 8 oz. of refried beans. Blend on high for a little bit – just enough time to make sure all of the ingredients are evenly mixed together. If you blend too long it will heat up the ingredients and cause the texture to be thinner than you want.

Pour your dip from you blender into a glass baking dish. Top with a handful of shredded lettuce, shredded cheese, sliced olives, jalapenos, chopped cilantro and roma tomatoes. 

I lined the edges of the dish with Fritos Scoops and then put it in the fridge to set.

The “Machos” and organizing all of these books (by COLOR!…until he changes it) is what I have to look forward to tonight.

 

Happy Moving Day!

Leave a Reply

