Happy Fall: White Bean Pumpkin & Kale Soup

Oh my goodness. Lots going on over here. Had some staffing hiccups in my new store (feels like new store manager initiation), moved to suburbia, adjusting to never seeing my fiance, commuting, missing my home, counting down the days to our wedding immediately following the Starbucks Leadership Conference in Houston, TX.

Lots happening but by GRACE I’m enjoying everything being so busy and up in the air. I’m feeling SO blessed by all of our family and friends who have selflessly given their time, resources and energy to support our marriage.

Today is the first day off I’ve had in a long time. I was up early this morning reading “Gospel-Centered Marriage” by Tim Chester and the fireplace. It’s a really practical and concise book on marriage and it was such a rich but easy read.

This afternoon was a perfect day to make some sort of fall soup. After running errands I settled on creating a new fall recipe: White Bean Pumpkin & Kale Chili.

I sauteed a couple cloves of chopped garlic, half an onion, cumin, chili powder and cayenne. I browned a pound of lean ground turkey and then covered with about 32 oz. of low-sodium chicken broth. I added two cans of drained and rinsed northern beans, a minced jalapeno, 15 oz. of pure pumpkin puree, a bunch of thinly sliced kale, three fresh bay leaves, oregano and salt and pepper to taste.

After the turkey was fully cooked I just combined all of the ingredients and allowed it to simmer and slow cook on the stove. It filled the house with this beautifully warm scent. What a perfect fall day!

I topped the chili with a big dollop of non-fat plain greek yogurt, green onions, and just a tiny bit of shredded cheese.

The sky keeps changing from bright blue to dark gray against the vibrant color of the leaves changing.

This is my favorite time of year.
I can’t wait to spend my day off cuddling up with my husband and a bowl of this chili.

One comment

Leave a Reply

