Harvest Pot Roast

My photos aren’t working to be able to download what this delicious evening looked like.

I’ll have to wait until later but for now I wanted to post the recipe I “invented” for a perfect fall dinner.

I love how root vegetables give off this sweetness after they’ve been cooked. Today I decided I would make a pot roast but with more “uncommon” root vegetables. I used parsnips, turnips and rutabagas with some garlic, onions and carrots.

The “uncommon roots” had this “bite” to them that was familiar to me – almost like horseradish root but without the intense bite.

I loved cooking with something that was so different!

Here’s how it goes:

I cooked a little bit of bacon in a big soup pot. I discarded the bacon (for later) and sauteed some garlic, onions, salt and pepper. After the onions caramelized I added chopped rutabaga, parsnips, turnips and carrots. I noticed that the “uncommon roots” come with this wax coating on them.

Gross.

Use a potato peeler and swipe those suckers clean before you chop them up and add them to your pot roast.

I covered all of the veggies with a 32 oz. box of organic beef broth. I added a lot of salt and pepper, a lot of cayenne and some freshly chopped sage & thyme.

I added the pot roast to the whole mixture, made sure it was covered with the broth, and I slow cooked it – simmering for 2 hours.

The house smells amazing!

 

While the pot roast was cooking away I cheated and made crescent rolls. Before I rolled them up completely I added a pinch of fresh spinach for the middle and wrapped it with my leftover bacon.

 

I think these “uncommon roots” are my new favorite thing!

Leave a Reply

