The Secret to Hard Boiled Eggs

Eggs.

The other meat.

My husband makes fun of me because any time we have something with eggs I say something like “I would rather have eggs than (insert choice protein here) any day!”.

I think I like the fact that it’s nutritious, delicious, versatile and I don’t have to worry about weird pieces of cartilage, veins and fat like I do with poultry or beef.

I was just out in LA with the Filipino side of my family and I had Chicken Adobo with hard boiled eggs in the broth over rice.

Oh my, it was incredible!

I can’t eat anything off of the bone so I appreciated that I had some good quality protein to eat with such an amazing sauce.

Prior to my trip out to LA, I had decided that I wanted to make some protein-packed snacks to take to work during the week.

Somewhere along the line I learned the secret to hard boiled eggs…

An ICE BATH!

 

Before I learned this, my idea of a hard boiled egg was probably bright pink on Easter with a day-old gray-blue center. Gross.

Since then I’ve learned how to get a creamy, golden yellow yolk for the perfect high-protein snack!

 

You’ll start with at least 6 eggs. Leave them at room temperature for around 30 minutes. Boil a pot of water.

Once the water is boiling you’ll gently ladle them into the water with a collapsable silicon measuring cup or whatever is available. Just be careful to gently lay the egg at the bottom of the pan during this process and to not crack it.

The magic number is 10.

10 minutes.

While the eggs are cooking you’re prepare an ice bath: giant bowl filled with ice and water.

When the eggs are done you’ll strain them and quickly transfer them into their ice bath. This stops the cooking process and allows for the eggs to be peeled easier.

 

598580_4997686781103_159974768_n (1)

 

Once you’re ready you’ll pull your eggs out of the ice bath, peel them, slice them and scoop out the yolk with a spoon into a different bowl.

Mix the yolk together with a large scoop of greek yogurt, tabasco sauce, celery seed and crushed black pepper.

Transfer all of the yolks into a zip-loc bag, snip the tiniest bit off of the corner of the bag and pipe the yolk mixture into the whites of the eggs.

You’ve just made the healthiest deviled eggs (should we call them “heavenly eggs”?).

They’re perfect to pack for your lunch at work with 6g of protein and hardly any carbs.


556108_4997706661600_1003876568_n (1)

2 comments

  1. Those were my childhood Easter eggs too! We always had the “stray” one that disappeared somewhere in the curtains or coat closet, and we only found it a week later by its smell… Its center was probably far past gray-blue!

Leave a Reply

