Weeknight Meal: Chicken Tenders are Not Just For Kids

 

 

 

I’ve always wanted to make my own ketchup.

I decided to make a gourmet/healthier spin off of the traditional chicken tenders and french fries to pair with my homemade ketchup.

Before you do anything you’ll want to get your ketchup cooking.

In a saucepan I mixed one can of tomato sauce, a tiny can of tomato paste, 1/4 c. equivalent of truvia, 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar, cinnamon, salt (I used smoked salt but any kind works) and pepper. I also included herbes de provence because I’m using it on everything lately.

Now the secret to this ketchup is in the onion and the cinnamon. Peel and cut a sweet yellow onion in half and place in the saucepan. When the ketchup is done cooking you’ll remove the onion. You can either discard it or create a great type of relish if you’re doing burgers, brats or something similar.

Preferably you’ll want to slow cook your ketchup for at least an hour but this recipe works with just 10 minutes of simmer-time if that’s all you have.

When you’re done cooking your ketchup you’ll immediately cool it. If you live in Minnesota and have 15″ of snow on the ground you can place a cover on the saucepan and stick it out in a snowbank (yes, I seriously did that). If not, make some room in your freezer and chill it to at least room temperature.

While your ketchup is chilling you’re going to get two bowls.

Bowl #1: Whisk together two eggs (or three egg whites)

Bowl #2: Combine about a cup of your favorite kind of flour (GF: coconut, almond, rice, etc.), salt and pepper.

To make clean up super easy I laid out some parchment paper on my counter. This helped because I had more tenders than my skillet could hold.

So it goes like this: chicken tenders get thrown into bowl #1, coated in the egg mixture, then they get tossed in bowl #2, lightly coated with the flour mixture and then they lay out on the parchment paper.

I heat just a little bit of olive oil in the bottom of my skillet and throw in about six tenders, sprinkle with herbes de provence (or your favorite seasoning), throw on the lid, cook about 4 minutes on each side. I keep cooking until my parchment paper is empty and by now my ketchup is cool.

Dinner is served!

401618_10200148378853363_1033766468_n
The ketchup was so good that we had meatloaf the next night just to have more! I think I need to make this ahead of time and keep it in a mason jar in my fridge from now on.

Delicious!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

