Friday Pizza Movie Night

When I was younger my best friend and I used to babysit three wild children while their parents, our mentors & friends of the family, went out for “date night”. This family had a weekly tradition on Fridays called “Pizza Movie Night”. It was simple just like it sounds, the Mom would start with a whole wheat crust that was lightly sweetened with honey and simply topped with a squeeze bottle of pizza sauce and shredded cheddar cheese.

The pizza was simple but there was something so cozy about cuddling up on the couch with three little ones and a movie. Knowing it was a “family tradition” you felt like you were part of something, creating memories that would be passed down through the years.

I decided, after several Pizza Movie Nights that when I had my own family I’d start the Friday night tradition to create our own memories.

Working for Starbucks I hardly ever have a Friday thats really a Friday. I’m usually up early Saturday morning working an unpredictable day, just dreaming of sleeping in on Sunday morning. This weekly tradition is a little excuse to still celebrate on Friday and I’ve been figuring out healthy alternatives for pizza along the way.


380754_10200167955022755_185932972_n

I still haven’t attempted making pizza dough with the Vitamix and this bad baker still needs to get a rolling pin so in the meantime I decided that the Artisan Whole Grain pizza dough by Pillsbury was the safest bet.

On this pizza I drizzled EVOO, herbes de Provence (of course), shredded pecorino, crumbed bacon, red onion, thinly sliced apples, spinach and french feta.

The secret is a blazing hot 500+ degrees oven. The pizza baked perfectly in under 6 minutes!

My new trend in the kitchen with pizza is to top it with fresh arugula after it comes out of the oven. The arugula just slightly wilts over the heat of the pizza and it adds this sweet peppery flavor and fresh texture.

 

68162_10200167820259386_1547930736_n

 

The second pizza was topped with a gourmet Italian pizza sauce from the cheese shop down the street (I cheated!).   I added some fresh Burrata from California. It’s a fresh Italian cheese made with mozzarella and cream. The outside is a shell of solid mozzarella while the inside is a mixture of mozzarella and cream, giving it a uniquely creamy texture. Burrata melts beautifully on pizza! I finished the pizza with almost the same ingredients as the one before it; spinach, bacon, feta, etc. Topped it with arugula and…bon appetit!

 

Now it seems like every Friday I’m trying new flavor combinations for Pizza Movie Night! Last week I substituted pesto as the sauce and completely covered the pizza with rows of juicy rotisserie chicken (cheated again!), freshly sliced mozzarella and roma tomatoes. After the oven I topped it with arugula of course! That was my favorite version of Pizza Movie Night, yet!

 

 

Leave a Reply

