Welcome to the Good Life!

After two months of packing and organizing with a full schedule, counting down the days and preparing my store to be handed over, we’re on our way!

It’s been a whirlwind of transition and adjustments, happening much sooner than I expected, but I’m happy for the new season ahead and what it holds for us.

It’s been snowing for 33 hours straight in Minnesota. Our trip to the airport was at a 10 mph pace in the beginning of a snow day’s rush hour traffic. When I got to the airport the lines were the longest I have ever seen. I quickly discovered a shorter line to kiosk check-in where I made the last-minute decision to upgrade to first class – hoping to save time with shorter check-in and security lines.

Even with the express route I was now on, I almost missed my flight. I got to the gate just as they were closing the doors. Of course then we sat at the gate for the next hour while we waited to enter the de-icing process and take off but I was happy in my first class digs.

I had the perfect seat – the first row of first class – where I could stretch my (just short enough) legs out to rest on the wall in front of me. I drank my coffee, read a provoking chapter on prayer in Desiring God, enjoyed my first class breakfast (vegetable quiche – yum!) and watched the movie Lincoln on the complimentary DVD players they gave you.

I wish every flight could be first class! It was a near disaster turned into an exciting blessing that I was overwhelmed with thankfulness for. My God know exactly what I need!

578595_10200769445779648_1481974422_n

I spent the morning in West Hollywood having lunch with the little kids and catching up with Kuya PJ & Frances. It’s still so weird to realize that I can RELAX! There’s no packing to be done, no organizing, no to-do lists, no store to manage – nothing. I keep having to remind myself that now I get to rest and it is so foreign and GLORIOUS all at the same time.
559726_10200771744637118_396817809_n

I feel relieved to be here. I’m cherishing every second I have to just enjoy the beginning of this new season – taking advantage of the time to regroup, focus, prioritize and engage my heart in eternal matters.

602730_10200772774622867_234344111_n

This afternoon I had some quiet time; soaking up the sunshine while I sipped iced coffee and listened to worship music. That little moment was so good for my weary heart – just to be able to rest in the presence of God and allow my heart to overflow with gratitude.

He helped me. He sustained me. He led me and he pursued me through the whole process with goodness and mercy.

By the grace of God I’ve survived and made it to California. By that same grace, I’ve arrived with hope in my heart for a new beginning.

Grace, for trying seasons and new beginnings, this is the good life.

Oh praise the One who paid my debts and raised this life up from the dead. 

Leave a Reply

