Beautiful Hour

It’s only March but we’re already having to buy blackout window treatments to keep our room cool when the afternoon sun shines in. This also means that I got to practice with the beautiful southern California light.

This is Faye. Today I taught her how to detail her car and find hidden car wash deals in “little Tijuana”. It sounds like I’m really knowledgable about the area but it’s actually just because I got lost trying to find a gas station today. It paid off when I found a $5.95 hand wash!

 

IMG_5434_2
When this girl laughs she laughs with her whole body. I was thanking God this afternoon for how easily our friendship has progressed. She is such a gift to my life with her genuine encouragement, involvement, and vulnerable, challenging conversations.


IMG_5457
Today I learned how quickly the light changes during this time of day! Actually lots of lessons learned this afternoon as I was experimenting with different lenses and lighting.
IMG_5447

This next photo was taken when I switched to a 50mm. I love the lens flare and how dramatic it looks with the lowest aperture (experimenting) but I had some exposure issues with all of this light coming through. Still, it’s hard to make someone this beautiful look unfortunate.
IMG_5537
I’m thankful for beautiful people and beautiful places, it makes practicing that much more fun!

Leave a Reply

